Wheaton Park District to officially change name of park at Main and Roosevelt Roads to Rotary Park

Wheaton, Ill.—The Wheaton Park District Board of Commissioners voted at its regular meeting August 22 to name the district’s park located at Main St. and Roosevelt Rd. (adjacent to Central Athletic Complex) in honor of the Wheaton Rotary.

The Wheaton Rotary and Wheaton A.M. Rotary Club have serviced both local and international projects, from the local community of DuPage County to international projects. Both Rotary clubs have also sponsored college and vocational scholarships for many years.

Wheaton Rotary has been involved in the community for over 50 years, with contributions to the Wheaton Park District exceeding several hundred thousand dollars and thousands of volunteer hours. Their significant contributions include over $75,000 to the Sensory Garden Playground, donations to Western DuPage Special Recreation Association, and funding and building numerous gazebos and shelters on park district land. They also contributed to Illinois’ first accessible playground at Northside Park, the Clocktower Mini Golf and Skate Park, metal blockades on the Prairie Path and multiple projects within Cosley Zoo.

In addition to their monetary donations, members of the Rotary have also served on foundation boards for the DuPage County Historical Museum, Cosley Zoo, and the Wheaton Park District. The Wheaton A.M. Rotary is also a partner with the park district for their annual Fun Run in Color.

“We’re honored to name the park to recognize this great organization,” Wheaton Park District Executive Director Mike Benard said. “The valued partnership and support from the two clubs in Wheaton has made a difference for so many in our community and beyond, and we look forward to continuing our work with them.”

“We are honored and look forward to working with the district in maintaining and expanding the park and continuing our partnership,” Rotary President Steve Johnson said during the board meeting.

A naming ceremony at the park will be scheduled.

To learn more about the Wheaton Rotary, visit wheatonrotary.org or rotaryclubofwheatonam.org.

Written by: Gina Catalano

Board of Commissioners w/ Wheaton Rotary at August 22 Wheaton Park District board meeting

From left to right: Wheaton Park District Board Members John Kelly, Executive Director Mike Benard, Ray Morrill, and Jane Hodgkinson. Rotarians Sheri Billing, President Steve Johnson and President Re-Elect Ed Lowrie. Wheaton Park District Board Members Kevin Fahey, President John Vires, and Vice President Terry Mee.