Departments of the District 2018-03-23T14:32:27+00:00

Departments of the District

Administration

Michael Benard

Michael Benard, Executive Director and Secretary of the Board of Commissioners
mbenard@wheatonparks.org

Mike Benard has served as the Executive Director since 2007.  Mike serves as the chief administrative officer of the district. He is responsible for implementation of district policies and overall management of the parks and recreation system. Mike directly supervises the Director of Recreation, Director of Athletics, Director of Parks & Planning, Director of Special Facilities, Director of Finance, Director of Marketing and the Human Resources Manager. Mike is supervised by seven elected volunteer park board commissioners.

Donna Siciliano, Executive Assistant
dsiciliano@wheatonparks.org
– Serves as Assistant to the Executive Director
– Attends park and foundation board meetings
– Deputy FOIA Officer

Athletics

Mary Beth Cleary

Mary Beth Cleary, Director of Athletics
mbcleary@wheatonparks.org
– Plans, implements and evaluates athletics programs and select facilities to provide comprehensive services
– Oversees Athletics staff and all functions thereof

Finance

Rita Trainor

Rita Trainor, Finance Director
rtrainor@wheatonparks.org
– Manages all financial functions of the park district

Marketing & Development

Margie Wilhelmi

Margie Wilhelmi, Director of Marketing
mwilhelmi@wheatonparks.org
– Manages all marketing functions
– Oversees special event planning
– Develops partnerships that support the district’s mission

Parks & Planning

Rob Sperl

Rob Sperl, Director of Parks & Planning
rsperl@wheatonparks.org
– Maintains 52 parks-oversees capital projects and equipment replacement
– Directs all custodial work and operations of the Parks Department, Community Center, Cosley Zoo and Lincoln Marsh
– Facilitates the safety and upkeep of all the pools, playgrounds, athletic fields, buildings
– Manages repairs at recreational facilities and oversees day-to-day operations

Recreation

Vicki Beyer

Vicki Beyer, Director of Recreation
vbeyer@wheatonparks.org
– Plans, implements and evaluates programs and select facilities to provide comprehensive recreational services
– Oversees Recreation staff and all functions thereof

Special Facilities

Andy Bendy

Andy Bendy, Director of Special Facilities
abendy@wheatonparks.org
– Administers the planning, organization, direction and supervision of Special Facilities (Cosley Zoo, Parks Plus Fitness Center, Arrowhead Golf Club)
– Personnel management of all staff at Special Facilities